170 Main Street, Danbury, CT 06810  |  203.797.4505  |  Privacy Policy
KidZone KidZone » Good Books » About the Nutmeg Awards

Nutmeg Children's Book Award

About the Awards

The Nutmeg Children's Book Award encourages children in grades 4-6 to read quality books and choose their favorite from a list of 10 titles nominated by a committee of children's reading professionals. The project is jointly sponsored by the Connecticut Library Association (CLA) and the Connecticut Educational Media Association (CEMA).

Books nominated for the award must be:
1. A work of fiction with appeal for readers in grades 4-6.
2. Written by an author currently living in the U.S.
3. Copyrighted in the U.S. & published within 5 years of the presentation year.
4. Currently in print and available in paperback and hardcover.
5. Well-written, with strong characterization, a vivid setting, striking language, a well- constructed plot, and a plausible conclusion.

In April, you can vote for your favorite book from the list. The winner will be announced in May.

Click here to cast your vote for 2017!

The library has multiple copies of each title. Children need not read all ten books in order to vote, although they should be encouraged to read and/or listen to as many books on the list as possible.

Some Previous Winners Include

  • 2016 The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate
  • 2015 The Unwanted by Lisa McMann
  • 2014 Out of My Mind by Sharon M. Draper
  • 2013 Because of Mr. Terupt by Rob Buyea
  • 2012 Stolen Children by Peg Kehret
  • 2011 The Lemonade War by Jacqueline Davies
  • 2010 Double Identity by Margaret Peterson Haddix
  • 2009 MVP: Magellan Voyage Project by Douglas Evans 
  • 2008 Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
  • 2007 Thunder from the Sea by Joan Hiatt Harlow
  • 2006 The City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau
  • 2005 Skeleton Man by Joseph Bruchac
  • 2004 Babe and Me by Dan Gutman
  • 2003 Because of Winn-Dixie by Kate DiCamillo
  • 2002 Among the Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix